The Internet is great!  I love it for the world of information it brings to my fingertips; but in this case, my love is not built on trust. How important is it to to keep facts straight?  For some people the gloss, the glitter or the gag may be enough, but not for me. I need the real thing, not just a seductive tease like this Einstein meme on the Web:

545907_465983256812649_1059598224_nI was impressed, but as suspicious as ever.  This was just too cool and the quote fit just too neatly into the visual.  But while the Internet has the power to fool us, it also gives us the power to flush out the truth. With a little bit of effort I was able to trace the actual quote in Philipp Frank’s 1947 biography of Einstein.

“The value of an education in a liberal arts college is not the learning of many facts but the training of the mind to think something that cannot be learned from textbooks.”

–Quoted by Philipp Frank, ‘Einstein: His Life and Times’, p. 185. originally published 1947, (Cambridge, MA: Da Capo Press, 2002)

See original text at:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

