Tags

, ,

lane

Mike Lane The Baltimore Sun - from Cagle Cartoons

ALSO SEE: SUSAN BOYLE COMPILATION

OK, call me a sentimental old fool; old enough to remember seeing Judy Garland’s portrayal of Fannie Brice in A Star is Born when it was still a new release – and sentimental enough to have gotten teary eyed when she sang Arlen & Gershwin’s The Man That Got Away.  By 1975 I was jaded enough to stay dry eyed for Barbra’s remake in On a Clear Day. But I am not ashamed to admit that the room got a little misty when I watched the real thing a la 2009 on Youtube last night.  If you have been hiding under a rock somewhere and haven’t seen sweetheart Susan Boyle break the image barrier with her stupendous performance on Britain’s Got Talent (over 25 million hits in one week) I am proud to give you a link to this unlikely victory of substance over style.

Unlikely star - Susan Boyle performing I Dreamed a Dream from Les Miserables (CLICK IMAGE FOR VIDEO)

Unlikely star - Susan Boyle performing I Dreamed a Dream from Les Miserables (CLICK IMAGE FOR VIDEO)

Click here for The New York Times’ review of Susan’s performance

And just to prove Susan is no one-hit-wonder, here is her 1999 recording of Cry Me A River.  Haven’t heard this tune done so well since last time I was privileged to see Lenne Hardt perform it live at my bar.

I DREAMED A DREAM – Schonberg/Kretzmer (Lyrics)  OTHER VERSIONS

RUTH HENSHALL 1995

ELAIN PAIGE 2009

ARETHA FRANKLIN 1985

CRY ME A RIVER – OTHER VERSIONS

JULIE LONDON 1955

BARBRA STREISAND 1967

DIANA KRALL 2007

LULU 2007

ELLA FITZGERALD

JOE CROCKER 1970

